Decisions… and a Training Mission

Well, I’m still weighing my options regarding a cabin or flat deck on Clarity, but I’ve definitely decided to go with leeboards.  I’m shopping around for a used beach cat rudder assembly and two spare rudders to use as leeboards.  The cabin/flat deck decision will be based on weight and simplicity of construction, keeping in mind that the flat deck would extend out from the vaka about 14″ on each side, in order to provide a solid platform on which to pitch a tent.

As for my training mission, it looks like I’m going on a small group kayak camping trip down in the 10,000 Islands area in November.  It’ll be good for familiarization and equipment testing.  Also for testing ME, as I haven’t done any weekend trips in a kayak – just in sailboats.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

