The Fun Of Aging…. NOT!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted (I know, I say that a lot!), but I’ve been having a bit of a medical mystery going on, which has slowed me down.  Originally, it was either an allergic reaction, or something that mimicked an allergic reaction, but it apparently became a bit of a neurological issue.  Basically, imagine half of your skin itching like crazy!  We seem to have it under control at this point, and it feels like it’s going away, which will be great, because Clarity is just outside my window at work, and I’m looking forward to getting down to business and preparing for the 2014 Everglades Challenge!  My main fear is that sanding residue or chemical fumes will reignite the itching, so I’ve been waiting to see if we really get it taken care of.  In the meantime, I’m working on leeboard designs, and shallow keel designs for the amas (I’ll be using one or the other, not both).  I’m 95% sure that I’ll be installing the flat deck, but there is still the 5% that wants me to build a minimalistic 1 person cabin on the boat (the weight would be about the same either way).

Any thoughts regarding the leeboard/keel choice, and/or the deck/cabin conundrum, are welcome indeed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Fun Of Aging…. NOT!

  1. Jim says:

    I also have a Sailbird (actually two) that I’m going to modify for an EC in the future. I’d like to hear your thoughts on the cabin concept.
    Jim (Sundance)

    • Mike says:

      Jim, I’m in the early stages of the idea. In order for it to work, the centerboard trunk will have to be removed (in my case, it’s already gone). It would be an extremely tight, one person shelter. Additionally, it would make stepping the mast a bit more difficult (my mast is 7′ shorter than standard, so it’s not as much of an issue for me). However, if one is willing to make a Sailbird into an essentially single handed microcruiser, it has some potential. On the other hand, a flat 5’x8′ deck with no cockpit openings makes for a great party platform and a nice place to pitch an occasional tent. Where are you located? Perhaps we could get together and do some Sailbird brainstorming!

      • Jim says:

        I’m in Orange Park, just south of Jacksonville. I have one Sailbird restored to original condition and one I just picked up to “customize”.

  2. Mike says:

    Not too far at all, JIm… I keep mine in Tampa. Are you a member of the yahoo Sailbirds group?

Leave a Reply

