A Remembrance…

Yesterday, we had a small remembrance at sea, as we scattered the ashes of my father, who passed away on 14 June 2011, into the Gulf Of Mexico off of Fort Myers Beach, where he lived and sailed for so many years.  My comment to his memory was that there were indeed many times I wanted to toss him over the rail, and now I’ve got my chance.

He understood.

A few of us said words as we returned him to the waters, and then we scattered the rest to the wind and sea.

Well, almost all the rest.

I have a little bit left, as does Cathy.  Yep… I have a daddy doggie bag.

I sail because my father taught me, and there was no stronger method of bonding that I could ever imagine.  We had, like all fathers and sons, our ups and downs over the years, but the sailing remained in my blood, though sometimes dormant.  Susan, my wonderful wife, has awakened the sailor in me, and this time, it’s forever, for which I will always be grateful.  And as for dad, well… I wouldn’t be in the Everglades Challenge if it weren’t for him, so he’s coming with me.  As I experience interesting and challenging things on my (our) voyage, I will retain the memories, while leaving a bit of dad behind in those special spots.  In this way, I can indeed share one last voyage with him.

My dad's 1961 German Drivers License, which was also his competition license.  He raced an Austin Healey Sprite, along with many other cars for other owners.

My dad’s 1961 German Drivers License, which was also his competition license. He raced his personal Austin Healey Sprite, along with many other cars for other owners.

 

 

The original memorial I posted upon his passing can be found here: https://claritysailingadventures.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/in-memorium/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

