Where Am I? Why Am I Here? Where Am I Going??

With apologies to both Admiral Stockdale and to those who take the basic philosophical questions of life seriously, I have to decide how I’m going to locate myself during the Challenge.  I have an older, reliable, and somewhat irritating handheld Lowrance GPS.  As I also have older, somewhat reliable, and irritatingly out of focus eyeballs, the screen on the Lowrance can be quite the nemesis.  So… I’m strongly considering the Nexus 7 tablet.  It has a true GPS sensor, unlike the base model iPads, and is quite a bargain at $199 for a 16GB and $249 for a 32 GB quad core chipsetted tablet.  It has a nice sized screen, great graphics, and plenty of room to store all of Heinlein’s works (in case the wind dies, there will always be ‘Time Enough For Love’- if you haven’t read it, do so.  That’s an order.)

There sure seems to be a lot of positives to using a tablet, especially one loaded with Google Earth, Google Maps, and various & sundry navigation apps.  And just think… if Google has their way, sooner or later, the chip will be implanted so that we can all be assimilated, er  join the collective, be free to voluntary advance within society…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

