An Interview with SmallTrimarans.com…

Joe at http://smalltrimarans.com interviewed me regarding our Sailbird and the E.C.  His post appears here at http://smalltrimarans.com/blog/?p=5175 .  I thought it was a pretty good interview, so, in a moment of shameless self-promotion, I decided to post it for your reading pleasure.  It has a bit of information on why we ended up dropping out, which will be written up in detail in a full race report, as soon as I get all caught up at the office.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Interview with SmallTrimarans.com…

  1. Dan says:

    Nice plug on small tri’s web site. I noticed you mentioned for the next EC you were thinking of decking your cockpit. I’ve really enjoyed the comfort of having self bailing footwells on my Tamanu. If you set the false floor above the loaded waterline, spray and even green water will drain right out, while giving more comfort than sitting for long stretches like a beachcat sailor with legs outstretched. Additionally, I found a great source thanks to Ray Aldridge or Slider cat for foil blanks ready to glass at Flying Foam–cheap too.

    Dan

  2. Mike says:

    Thanks for the comments! I should have been a bit more clear about ‘decking over’ the cockpit. I’m thinking that 3 inches above LWL should do nicely, with nice big scupper holes for drainage! And I’m going to have to check out Flying Foam… whether we stick with the daggerboard or go with a centerboard, I want something better this time around…. and that goes for the rudder, too!

Leave a Reply

