Without A Paddle booksigning!

“I hope you don’t mind, but I always sign books with ‘Paddle or Die’,” Warren Richey said to me as he signed our copy of his book ‘Without A Paddle’.  “Is there any other way?” I responded, thinking that I was in for an interesting evening indeed.

I was most correct in that assumption…

When I first saw Warren, I thought he looked like an average enough sort of man.   He could have either been the guy I came to see, or an employee at the bookstore where the signing was hosted.  Then, as the night progressed, I caught the casual yet alert stance, more like a martial artist than a stance of military bearing, and I caught the look in his eyes.  Not the 1000 yard stare of a combat seasoned individual, but the 1000 league stare of one who’s communed with the sea.  And, oddly enough, there might have even been a touch of Flynn Carsen, or even Indiana Jones, in there somewhere, hiding behind the mild-mannered journalist talking with us.

Warren began by talking a little bit about the Ultimate Florida Challenge, and then read a few excerpts from the book.  Two thinks came to my mind right away…. one, I like this guy, and two… he writes more like me than I do.  Or so I would like to think!

By the end of the evening, he had done one thing for me above all else:  he humanized the Challenge.  By that I mean, well, here’s this guy, a basically normal human being, who did this incredible feat.  And if he could do it, so can I.  But, and this is important, he didn’t diminish the Challenge at all; rather, he inspired in me the feeling that I too can reach inside me and find what I need from within.  So when I say humanize, I mean it as a huge compliment.

Read the book – it’ll inspire you to do all sorts of things from washing the dishes to paddling all over the place.  Paddle Or Die…… he’s got that exactly right!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

